Press Release

Kohl Award Winners Named, Eight Awardees from Diocesan Catholic Schools

Diocese-Green-Bay-LogoGREEN BAY, Wis. (March 22, 2016) -- The selection committee for the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Scholarship, Fellowship and Leadership Program has announced recipients of the 2016 Herb Kohl Foundation awards for students, teachers, and principals. The $3,000 awards are being made to 100 teachers and their schools, 16 principals and their schools, and 184 graduating high school students from the state of Wisconsin. This year marks the first Kohl principal awards that recognize school leadership across the state.

This year's awardees feature eight recipients from Catholic schools in the Diocese of Green Bay: one principal, three teachers, and four students.

Eight Awardees First for Diocese

"The Education Department of the Diocese of Green Bay is so proud to note that we have an incredible eight awardees this year! We believe this achievement to be a first for the diocese," said Sister Kay Klackner, OSF, Superintendent of Catholic Schools. "The achievements of our students, teachers, and principal provide evidence of the daily and continued quality Catholic education provided by our schools. We congratulate each awardee! We are blessed to have such hardworking and quality individuals represent the education provided through our Catholic Schools in the Diocese of Green Bay."

Excellence in School Leadership ($3,000 personal award, $3,000 for school) -- Recipients of the new Leadership Award are school principals who are being recognized for setting high standards for instruction, achievement, and character and for creating a climate to best serve students, families, staff, and community.

  • Kerry Sievert, principal, from Divine Savior Catholic School, Kiel

Teacher Fellowship Winners (each $3,000 personal award, $3,000 for school) -- Recipients are educators who have been chosen for their superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others, and their leadership and service within and outside the classroom.

  • Linda Jelinek, Divine Savior Catholic School, Kiel
  • David Kubisch, St. Francis Xavier High School, Appleton
  • Christine Steinlage, St. Francis Xavier High School, Appleton

Student Excellence Winners (each $3,000 college scholarship) -- Recipients have demonstrated excellence in the academic arena and high motivation to achieve, have displayed a broad range of activity and leadership outside the academic setting, and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond.

  • Zachary LeVene, Roncalli High School, Manitowoc
  • John Rekoske, St. Francis Xavier High School, Appleton
  • Cullen Hilliker, Roncalli High School, Manitowoc

Student Initiative Winner ($3,000 college scholarship) -- Recipients, chosen by their schools, have demonstrated exceptional initiative in the classroom and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond, but have not yet received other academic-based scholarships.

  • Spencer Collard, Notre Dame Academy, Green Bay

Regional recognition luncheons honoring the recipients will be held in the coming weeks. Herb Kohl will attend all luncheons and present awards to recipients. Please visit for a list of the recognition luncheon dates and locations, the list of recipients, and additional information about the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation.

Our congratulations to all the 2016 Herb Kohl Education Scholarship, Fellowship, and Leadership awardees! We particularly commend our eight Green Bay Diocesan awardees for their diligence and hard work for the glory of God.


Who We Are

The Catholic Diocese of Green Bay works to bring the Good News of Jesus Christ by helping people in need and by providing academic, leadership and spiritual formation opportunities to parish and school leaders. Established in 1868, the Diocese is composed of 324,000 Catholics in 16 counties: Brown, Calumet, Door, Florence, Forest, Kewaunee, Langlade, Manitowoc, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Outagamie, Shawano, Waupaca, Waushara and Winnebago.


Justine Lodl
Director of Communications
Phone: (920) 272-8213
E-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Sarah Bradford
Communications Coordinator
Phone: (920) 272-8209
E-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Download Press Release