Diocese of Green Bay Facebook

Diocese of Green Bay Twitter

Diocese of Green Bay Vimeo


Press Release

Bishop Ricken Names Sept. 8 as Immigration Sunday

coat-of-armsGREEN BAY, Wis. (Aug. 20, 2013) -- Bishop Ricken has named Sunday, Sept. 8, as Immigration Sunday to highlight the importance of Catholic advocacy for comprehensive immigration reform. Bishop Ricken will celebrate Mass on Sept. 8 at St. Therese Parish, Appleton, at 9 a.m. with Fr. Bill Hoffman as concelebrant. Bishop Ricken has also invited all parishes to join him in prayer and advocacy for this very important issue.

The U.S. Senate adopted S.744, the Border Security, Economic Opportunity, and Immigration Modernization Act, on June 27 with a vote of 68-32, and the bill has now moved to the House of Representatives.

Wisconsin Bishops Call for Fixing Broken System

In a June 20 letter from the Wisconsin Catholic Conference regarding S.744, the five bishops of Wisconsin -- Archbishop Jerome E. Listecki, Milwaukee; Bishop David L. Ricken, Green Bay; Bishop Robert C. Morlino, Madison; Bishop William P. Callahan, La Crosse; and Bishop Peter F. Christensen, Superior -- wrote, "For the first time in nearly a generation, our nation has the opportunity to fix our broken immigration system into one that promotes human rights, legal behavior, family unity, and secure borders." At the end of the letter, they quoted part of their 2011 pastoral letter on immigration, Traveling Together in Hope: "Our Catholic faith can and must transcend political and cultural turmoil. Let us remember that in the end we are all migrants on this earth, traveling together in hope towards our loving God. May Our Lady of Guadalupe, Mother of the Americas, protect us on our journey."


Who We Are

The Catholic Diocese of Green Bay works to bring the Good News of Jesus Christ by helping people in need and by providing academic, leadership and spiritual formation opportunities to parish and school leaders. Established in 1868, the Diocese is composed of 324,000 Catholics in 16 counties: Brown, Calumet, Door, Florence, Forest, Kewaunee, Langlade, Manitowoc, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Outagamie, Shawano, Waupaca, Waushara and Winnebago.


Justine Lodl
Director of Communications 
Phone: (920) 272-8213 
E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Amber Backus
Communications Coordinator
Phone: (920) 272-8209 
E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.